MK’s Busy Summer

Hey guys! I can’t wrap my head around the idea that this is my last summer break of college and it is almost over!! Even though that makes me sad, it also makes me so excited to finally get back to my home away from home, Carl L. Shrader Gymnasium. I cannot wait to see what this season holds for the GSUVB family. I have a good feeling some history may be made, so stay tuned.

My summer has consisted of working, studying, working out, and fun. I spent most weekdays working in a State Farm office as a licensed sales associate. Although I never got to meet Jake and we didn’t have to wear khakis, like a good neighbor everyone in the office was there to teach me so much and I am so grateful for the experience I gained this summer. The rest of my free time during the week was spent taking summer classes and working out. I was forced to become a morning person and get my summer workouts in before work at 9:00am, so I could spend my evenings doing school work. This allowed for extra time on the weekends for fun.

My boss took us out on her boat one evening for dinner!

All my weekday hard work made the weekends and vacations that much better. My weekends were spent hanging out with my friends and family. I got to go to a couple of Mets games which is one of my favorite summertime activities. I also spent some time hanging out with my friends at the beach skim boarding and playing Spikeball.

As always, my family spent a week out in Montauk. This is always my favorite week of the summer because if is just a week on the beach with no responsibilities. It was much needed this summer as I was so busy and didn’t get as many regular beach days in as I normally do. One day our family friends came and dug a huge hole!

I also got to enjoy a vacation in Las Vegas this summer! I went with a group of friends to celebrate our friend’s birthday. I didn’t win any money, but I also didn’t lose any, so overall it was a great trip! Below you can see us looking like dorks arriving in our matching travel tee shirts.

Dorks!

My last weekend of the summer is going to be spent in Rockaway playing in a beach tournament all day Saturday. Hopefully I will get all of the summer rust out so I can hit the ground running on August 19th (the first day of preseason).

Even though my summer was jam-packed and I hardly had a second to breath, all I could think about was hanging the banner and making history with the best teammates in the world. I can’t wait to see everyone on the court next week!

-MK Saladino

Leave a comment